Fine

I remember back, to when I was nine

hiding in my closet, in fear

hearing the cries and screams

of the voices of my parents

I put in the DVD, Ballet Shoes

hoping to distract my mind,

with the art of a dance

and the fantasy of everything being fine

 

I remember she said,

she would leave and not return,

that they shouldn’t have gotten married,

and she was worthless to him.

for she was usually drunk, out of her mind

but he would still plead with her

as his face turned red and tears fell like rain

trying to calm her down,

saying that he loved her

she was acting irrational,

and everything would be fine

 

so while this continued

I sat in my closet staring at a small screen,

terrified I’d be abandoned again

and that nothing was fine.

Leave a Reply

